Mar 4

A much needed road trip today. I checked the weather forecast and the road report when I got up this morning and both looked good, so after breakfast I headed to the valley. I was running out of the frozen meals that I buy at a couple of the bakeries there, and I was running out of baked goods too. So my goal was to stock up on things and have a drive around looking for birds. 
I drove down a road that I am not often on, and I spotted this in a field close to the road. They have a program called 'Uncommon Art', and this must be a new installation since I did not notice it when I was on this road last year. It was titled 'Emergency Exit'
I saw several eagles, a red tailed hawk, lots of sparrows, chickadees and juncos and one cardinal.
Even though I haven't been out to fill the feeders for a couple of days, there were still some seeds in them from before the storm. The squirrels are not fussy, they eat them anyways. The one that goes to the cage feeder had no problem. The one that sits in the flat feeder made himself a cave yesterday to get to the seeds. This morning he tunneled thru the rest of the snow. The chickadees were taking advantage of his work this afternoon and they were getting some seeds from the flat feeder. I shoveled a path to each feeder this afternoon so I can fill them again tomorrow morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.