Living my dream

By Mima

Complete

I have fallen behind with replying to your comments and to reading Blips this weekend. I have hardly looked at my screen for three days. Bear with me!

Yesterday, as well as having an eye exam in Dunedin - which resulted in the need for new glasses - I dropped into a couple of garden centres to collect some plants I’d arranged to have put aside for me.

Olive trees and tea bushes complete my food production dreams / plans for Chez Mima. Consequently buying two of each yesterday saw me driving home with a song on my lips and joy in my heart. These are the labels from the pots.

For decades I dreamt of growing all the things that I now do, and for many years I grew all the annual and biennial things that I love. It is only since moving here in 2017 - the first time I’d ‘owned’ any land since 1997 - that I have been able to gradually burrow into all of my dreams and make them reality; planting food perennials and trees in every corner of the property.

Of course some things have failed, and some dreams never came to fruition for unavoidable reasons (mostly climate-related) but the vast majority of the food I wanted to produce is now either happening, or will be soon.

As I said to a friend yesterday, I’d better not die in the next handful of years: I’d be so pissed off to miss the complete harvests. There is much to look forward to.

Bean had as boring a day in the car as I did yesterday, so we have had two good long walks today. They did us both good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.