A Day In The Life

By Irish59

On Different Paths

After a new snow I enjoy looking for fresh dear deer tracks from the night before, and this morning didn’t disappoint • Before dark last night I cleared a shovel-wide path to Newt’s wooden step to leave apples, carrots and seeds for overnight dear deer visitors. I knew they would be hungry and tired after working their way through 15” of new snow • I found numerous hoof marks in my woman-made path, but I was more curious about the one running parallel to it, made by an industrious and independent dear deer. Perhaps it was the Leader Of The Pack? • The other dear deer, gliding through my path, no doubt watched this loner dear deer cut his/her way through deep snow, thinking to themselves, sure, Go Your Own Way • But I’d like to think this experienced dear deer had more of a poetic nature, keeping with a Robert Frost approach to life: Two roads diverged in a wood, and I -, I took the one less traveled by, And that has made all the difference • Lots of shoveling today underneath a clear blue sky; the rest will be finished tomorrow • Enjoy a peaceful Sunday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.