An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Crochet concentration...

Backblip

Engineer was here to service the pool plant equipment this morning so the girls weren't able to get in the pool before lunch.  Instead they had an afternoon at Loch Leven, going for a walk around part of the loch, having lunch at Loch Leven's Larder, and the most exciting part for S, visiting the lovely shop.  I think the girls enjoyed that part too but it was hard to compete with climbing trees and rope swings.

Anna had gotten her wires crossed re. the pool and had thought her dad had said they would go in the pool when they got back, so there were tears when he said she couldn't.  I felt so sorry for her as I remember so clearly being that age and looking forward to something, only to end up experiencing crushing disappointment.  

This morning she asked me if I would teach her to crochet so when I suggested we do that after dinner she quickly cheered up and agreed.  Now I am not a natural teacher (D says whenever I am trying to teach someone something I automatically assume they have at the very least some knowledge of whatever is being taught.  Actually what it boils down to is I have absolutely NO patience!! :-o ) so I gave myself a talking to about keeping it basic and not expecting too much :-)

After dinner I crocheted a small section using a large sized hook, thick yarn and single crochet stitches then set about introducing Anna to the joy of crochet.  We started with how to hold the hook (a difficult one as everyone finds their own way) and the basic, repetitive movements of the stitch.  She actually did really well, understanding what she had to do but having difficulty executing the moves due to being unfamiliar with holding the hook and yarn.  

Things improved when I suggested she lay the work on a table to free up a hand.  I was surprised at how patient I was but then I did constantly remind myself that she's eight years old and this is completely alien to her.  Unlike when I tried to teach my best friend Agnes (who can knit) and after five minutes of trying to teach her I wanted to rip the crochet out of her hands and poke her eyes out with the hook!!! LOL  In the end, to reduce the risk of ruining our 48 year friendship, I sent her a link to the You Tube videos I used to teach myself, and let her get on with it :-))

Two episodes of Death in Paradise before bed.  L very happy.  S wanting to poke her own eyes out with the crochet hook :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.