Alarm-square

When I went to bed last night I had planned to work on musical details for  a rehearsal tomorrow and then some for a concert on Sunday. Nothing became of that. Eight thirty, my phone woke me up with a message saying, can you work at the theatre today, from nine o'clock because of a staff-illness. My first thought was to say no, I have other plans but then I thought I can do some of it this afternoon and the rest tomorrow, so I said yes, I'll be there in half an hour. Breakfast in the car. We had heavy snowfall today and I took one picture of the square "Alarm-square", as it's called because that's where you gathered in the old days, in the event of a fire-alarm or a war, or something. No other pictures were taken.

The show at the theatre was our councils music-school performing a home-made musical for all the kids at the regular school, in order to gather interest among the kids to start playing an instrument next autumn. There was three shows in a row, performing for kids from six or seven different schools in Kalmar. The music school will continue doing this for the rest of the week. The age-groups was mostly 8-9 yers old, it was lovely to meet them, about 200 each performance, but I was quite tired after working three shows in a row. 
After lunch in town, I stayed around to go to the annual book-sale and got myself three books that I look forward to reading. Then I went back to my island to do shopping and some other errands, which meant I got home fairly late in the day. Being tired, not much got done of the things I had planned yesterday but there is a tomorrow to fill up.

In the evening I watched a nearly two hour long Japanese film "Call me Ishiro". I thought it was wonderful, no violence at all but a film of many layers and a storytelling that I'm quite unfamiliar with. The tempo is extremely slow and it was difficult to understand the temperaments and the storytelling, coming from a different culture. Warmly recommended.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.