IWD

Happy International Women's Day 

Mine started with a WhatsApp from A with a photo of an extract about women jute mill workers in Dundee asking whether any of our ancestors did so.  They did indeed including my great great grandmother Bridget from Ireland, as well as two other great grandmothers, three great grandmothers and many others. However for the purposes of WhatApp I restricted my answer to *lots*. I shall leave the details to when she next visits. 

This set the scene for a u3a zoom talk on Genetics and Geneology which I attended this afternoon - it was really interesting and has given me a few ideas on how I might identify the father of one of my great great grandmothers. 

The talk also raised some interesting ethical issues - for example, if you find that the parents of a relation are not those registered, should you include this information in a public tree.  Tricky, especially when in near past. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.