W-I-D-E on Wednesday (Plus Wildwed Extras!)

Bobsblips has set "Road/Track/Path" for today's Widwed challenge. We had a walk up to Killingworth Village this morning and wandered along some of the tracks just south of the village. As you can see, there were plenty of options as to which way to go at this junction.! There was still a little snow on the ground following yesterday's light snowfall. I felt that the photo was a bit bland so tarted it up with an oil-paint filter to try to make it look better.

We then walked on to Killingworth Lake where I took the extra - a Goldeneye *Tufted Duck who seems to be giving me a very stern look!

We were delighted to see that some coots are building a nest where they used to nest for several years running (2nd extra) - last year they didn't comea nd we feared that they'd succumbed to bird flu. Of course they may be a different birds this year - or maybe the offspring of the previous nesters. Let's hope they succeed in rearing a new family this year.

I'll tag the extra for Cailleach's Wildwed challenge and hope she doesn't mind it being in the extra.

* PS I've now corrected an error, pointed out by my trusty Editor. The first extra is a Tufted Duck, not a Goldeneye. Apologies!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.