HelHSS

By HelHSS

Bad Weather

It's been snowing...
Temperature -1 in daytime, cloudy, very slushy or icy, depending on the place. Slippery anyway.

Happy International Women's Day. We all, being women or not, need much happiness.

I went for a drive by car, it really wasn't the weather to go by moped. Mr S didn't want to come with me this time, he prefered reading the newspaper. I don't very much like to go alone by a car. If something happened I would be quite helpless. But on the other hand I have the phone, of course, and I'm mentally very capable to manage. However, because of the very slippery roads I didn't go very far, only few kilometers here and there, around. However, as long as an hour. Just seeing things, anything. In Extra you can see the weather.

I first drove to the Tuomarinkylä manor. The name of the village was already known as Tuomarinkylä in the Middle Ages. The first mention of Tuomarinkylä is in a document from 1417.

The manor was sold in 1917 to the city of Helsinki. The main building used to be the exhibition space of the Helsinki City Museum until 2013.

The city of Helsinki still manages and cultivates the lands of the manor. The surrounding fields form a valuable whole in terms of landscape and cultural history. Riding schools operate in the manor's former stables and barn. You can see some horses in the main picture.

In another place near the Vanhankaupunginlahti bay I saw from the car when driving a swan in the water by the road. Couldn't stay looking better because driving, what the smaller birds were by the swan, baby swans or some other species. Amazing that I happened to look exactly at the point. The place is field area and there normally isn't water at all, only when it floods. The large area of Vanhankaupunginlahti bay area is a unique nature-, culture- and recreational area close to Helsinki city centre. The bay area reeds are, also internationally, significant bird nesting and watching areas. So no wonder the swan was there.

I also had my physiotherapy later today and now in the evening I and Mr S baked banana-apple muffins for the Women's Day.

Some reason again to have something delicious;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.