Twists and Turns

A quick dash out into the drizzle after lunch to blow away the cobwebs of a frustrating morning. This is the maple tree outside my husband’s study. I love all the droplets hanging from its extremities, and in particular the tiny group on the bottom right. 

All the twists and turns of the branches felt to me like a metaphor for the convoluted procedure I’ve been involved in this morning, when I spent a soul-destroying couple of hours trying to answer a list of questions from our solicitor about a small property we are in the process of selling. No sooner do I think we’ve given all the information that is required, than we find ourselves tangled up in yet more twists and turns, being asked to provide further documents and information we simply don’t have. The property we are selling is empty, and there is no chain at either end, so I feel sorry for sellers who are just one link in a lengthy chain.  

"The one great principle of the English law is to make business for itself. There is no other principle distinctly, certainly, and consistently maintained through all its narrow turnings." 

Bleak House ~ Charles Dickens

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.