A New Hope

On This Day In History
1970: Army captain charged with My Lai war crimes

Quote Of The Day
"I felt they were able to carry out the assigned task, the orders that meant killing small kids, killing women because they were trained that way, they were trained that when you get into combat it's either you or the enemy."
(Kenneth Hodges, 'Charlie' Company sergeant)

Now taking some downtime from a very emotional day in Bognor Regis. I met the lady that my brother was living with when he committed suicide. It's the first time we have met. She is still very emotional and tearful. She cried upon seeing me as she said I look so much like my brother. But it was nice to be able to share our thoughts and feelings. She is a lovely lady and I know that my brother loved her as deeply as she loved him.

One of the last things my brother and I did together was go to this cinema in Bognor to watch Rogue One. I thought the fact that the final word spoken in that film was Princess Leia saying, "Hope," was rather poignant. So I wrote what Yoda said about the deceased on a piece of paper before going to the block of flats where my brother jumped to his death and I lay the Princess Leia keyring on the spot where he died. Looking up at the window from which he leapt was a difficult thing to do, but I feel that it was also a necessary thing to do. I cannot imagine the darkness and desperation that a person must feel when death is preferable to life.

I am now spending a couple of nights in a hotel across the road from Gunwharf Quays. To be in a room by myself is exactly what I need now. Quiet contemplation.

Do not disturb.

The Force Theme

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.