I'll Huff And I'll Puff

On This Day In History
1997: Paul McCartney is knighted

Quote Of The Day
"It was one of the best days ever. I felt very honoured to be offered a knighthood and of course it would have been rude to turn it down!"
(Sir Paul McCartney)

After the emotionally taxing day yesterday, today was wonderfully carefree. That is, if you call running in freezing cold weather and a biting wind carefree, which I do. I met Blipper ChrisG for a Park Run along Southsea Sea Front. I then went back to my AirBnB opposite Gunwharf Quays for a shower and a cup of tea before walking to Albert Road where Chris and I had a couple of cups of coffee and cakes and a lovely long chat. We then went back to Chris' house for more tea and a further natter.

It was lovely to meet Chris. He's a delightful fellow and I really enjoyed talking with him. I also got to see his famous bicycles and, as you can see, to sit on one.

After leaving Chris' house I followed the directions he gave me to The Ocean At The End Of The Lane, named after Neil Gaiman's novel. On the subject of Neil Gaiman, I watched a couple of episodes of The Sandman on Netflix which is available in my room. Despite being adapted from one of the greatest comic books ever written, and with heavy oversight from Gaiman himself, I found it extremely dull and found myself nodding off a couple of times. A plodding script, a miscast Joanna Constantine (the actress did her best, though), a miscast voice-actor for Matthew .... very disappointing. Far better was the documentary about Leonard Nimoy written and presented by his son Adam. I thoroughly enjoyed that. 

Tour De France

Interestingly, Florian Schneider began as a flautist and I came across this ..... Flute Sonata. That's a classical music training for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.