Artful soup

I have rushed here, there, and everywhere today - to the gym, to a funeral, to a very convivial tea and scone date, and around my kitchen to make a prawn curry and brew a batch of carrot and coriander soup.

The funeral and tea and scone date were connected. This afternoon Lizzie and I attended the funeral of a colleague at Old Saint Paul's Episcopal Church. I don't think that I have ever been to a service like this before. It included a full choir in billowing red and white gowns, clergy all aglitter in their finery, imperialistic hymns, clouds of incense, baptismal water administered over the coffin, and a large congregation of around 300 who (unlike me) seemed very familiar with such a spectacle.

There were far fewer colleagues at the ceremony than I expected. I didn't even see Lizzie until afterwards when she caught up with me heading home through the station and suggested we have a catch-up in the Fruitmarket Gallery café. It was wonderful to see her. While I drank my tea, she consumed a bowl of celeriac soup. It was beautifully presented - almost Rennie Mackintosh style - as blipped.

I seem to be getting better at Azul. I beat Mr hazelh this evening just before dinner.

Exercise today: 50 minutes on the exercise bike; pilates class; walking (19,712 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.