An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

When he finished peeling the grapes…

Backblip

He peeled me an orange :-)))

Another exciting day on the ward.

Lovely doctor came and spoke to me just after breakfast. The plan is to stop my IV antibiotics today and switch to me to tablet form. All being well I will hopefully get home tomorrow. I hope I do as Alan’s going on a short Monday to Friday break to Cupar on Monday and I’d really like to see him before he goes. I told David not to bring him in to visit me in hospital as after his two week ordeal in hospital in January, I feel he’s seen enough of hospital life for a while.

David arrived just after 11.30am. It’s like a ray of sunshine when he comes in the room. He thinks I’m the strong one but I think it’s him. I must have been very good in a previous life to have earned the love and devotion of this patient, kind and funny (in a good way! Lol) man. He’d be mortified I’d put that in writing so please don’t tell him!! :-))

And oh how we have laughed today, at many of the goings-on in here. Honestly, three days in and I could write a book, actually make that two books, a comedy and a tragedy! I’ve been reminded, as in previous hospital stays, that no one has a perfect life, we all carry our own personal dramas and tragedies as well as triumphs. People are actually amazing… but also at times, truly awful.

I’ve witnessed subtle and not so subtle racism towards hospital staff as well as patients assuming they’ve checked into The Ritz with their unnecessary demands on over worked staff. Absolutely shocking.

After the orange peeling we resorted to crosswords again. We are rubbish at them :-)) I sent D home just before dinner was served. He’d have passed out trying to suppress his laughter at the conversation between the nurse and the lady in the bed next to me when dinner arrived. It went like this…

Nurse - would you like mince pie, fish or bean casserole?
Lady - what kind of fish is it?
Nurse - white
Lady - mince pie please

Not sure if she expected the answer to be salmon or Dover sole! Lol

So, my last set of stats were good. BP has climbed back up to normal, oral antibiotics administered so fingers crossed for early release back into the community tomorrow. I just hope David can get here. Snow forecast!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.