An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

I'm free!

Got my release papers.  Yay! 

The Doctors were on the ward early and confirmed I could go home along with two lots of antibiotics to take three times a day for another week.  I will be rattling!

Messaged D and he arrived within the hour.  Felt so good to be putting on clothes. Thought I would wait until I got home to have a shower as the hospital shower was like having someone flick water on you.  So weak! Plus I wanted to wash all the hospital smell off me.  Not the old antiseptic smell that used to be in hospitals but a sickly sweet air freshener smell that seemed ever present on the ward.

It was a bittersweet moment saying goodbye to the three ladies in the bay. One post op and in absolute agony, one awaiting surgery and feeling very apprehensive watching the post op lady, and one in for a less painful treatment and feeling very bored.  I was very thankful that I was getting to leave.

It wasn't til we got to the car and I got in that I realised how much this has taken out of me.  I suppose sitting in hospital doing nothing gives a false impression of one's recovery.  Once I was in the car I felt shattered.  

Once home I was greeted with great enthusiasm by Lola and lovely smiles from Alan.  He is excited about his short break tomorrow and Ally was about to get his stuff packed.  Jordan wasn't daft putting Ally on shift today.  She is such an organised person.  She also made my day by telling me she'd gotten engaged to her long term partner and showing me her most beautiful purple sapphire and diamond engagement ring.  I am over the moon for her.  So lovely to come home to such good news.

Chatted to Alan while David unpacked my bags and put my toiletries back in the shower.  I think that was one of the best showers I've ever had.  So good to get rid of my hospital hair!  I really did look a fright in there.  Like Billy Connelly circa 1977 only not as attractive! 

Dressed and downstairs and feet up in time for lunch and second dose of antibiotics.  Fortunately both have the same instructions - three times a day with food so not too complicated to administer.

Fell into a deep sleep after lunch and woke slightly disorientated and with a headache.  Same headache I've had on and off since Thursday.  I'd read the info sheets with my antibiotics earlier (never a good idea) and one of the side effects is encephalitis so I started to worry it might be that (I really hope this brush with sepsis isn't going to turn me into a panic merchant!) but then I remembered I'd had the headache before starting the antibiotics and decided I was dehydrated instead.   A large glass of water later and my headache was gone! lol

David made a lovely dinner of lemon sole, sweet potato mash and creamy leek sauce.  The aromas while he was cooking were amazing and I looked forward to it immensely.  Unfortunately when I attempted to eat it I had absolutely no appetite and only managed a couple of mouthfuls.  I think the antibiotics are making me slightly queasy.  In the end I had a couple of oatcakes with butter and enjoyed those.  

Spent the evening answering lots of messages I'd received but hadn't been able to reply to.  People have been so lovely and so full of concern, as have all you lovely blip pals.  Thank you so much.  Now I am home and have my laptop it is easier to reply and I will.  Your lovely comments and support really do touch my heart.  I am so thankful to be a part of this fabulous place :-) xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.