pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Planting

It has been a full day of jobs, but not before I had finished my book. I finished it and got up at 9.17 (yes, I looked at the clock) very late even for the weekend!

Then it was a variety of things - starting with making a lasagne, whilst eating my breakfast and listening to the Archers. I made an apple crumble with a twist. Apples from the freezer, collected last year, and a honey cornflake cake topping. I made more topping than I could pile onto the apple so we had cornflake cakes with our coffee.

After lunch, Jon and I did some work in the garden nextdoor. The trees which are leaning over our fence are full of ivy, and crisscrossing each other - but all leaning. Jon severed the ivy and we are going to let it die back then plan to clear it to see which, if any, of the trees can remain. We know several will have to come down. Possibly all of them. It will be nice to plant up a hedge to replace them, like we have at the bottom of our garden, and then a new tree maybe.

At 3.30 I took my bike and trailer down to collect 2 heavy bags of horse manure, then took it up to the allotment. While there, I managed to sew 6 different lots of seeds in 4 rows. Curly kale, Brussels, cauliflower, spinach, purple sprouting broccoli and pak choi. I would normally grow the seedlings at home, and will still do that for spinach and broccoli, plus kale, but they can also be sown straight into the ground. I decided I would try that. When the seedlings come up, I'll have to cover them, to stop the pests.

Got home at 5.30, feeling achy and put the dinner on. Dan has just arrived for dinner, then I'm looking forward to a nice bath, then the pottery throw down final!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.