Allotment chillout time

That was after a morning where we did the Lidl shop, then met up with Daniel, Mollie, Henry and Josh for a coffee at The Rocket. It was quite busy, but nice to all be together; it has been a while. Dan flies to Scotland tomorrow evening for work, so is going to come to us for sunday dinner at midday. Henry has finished with his night shifts, but is going to be working early mornings instead.

I didn't feel great when we got back, but Jon did me a bit of lunch and we sat in the conservatory. After lunch he went to the allotment which had been our plan, and I didn't feel like I had the energy to and I think I had a brief doze. Then decided I needed to just get myself moving, so changed, got my bike out and cycled up to join Jon. He had managed to get a fire going and was burning a big pile of rubbish. I took some bags of compost that I bought in Lidl, and refilled the troughs where strawberries used to grow, but have been overtaken by weeds. I have strawberry plants at home in pots, so will take them down tomorrow and plant them. We took down the gazebo framework. It had never really worked for us but we will use the poles to fix some of the fruit cage framework. I felt a lot better for doing something. I dug dock weeds out of the patch in the photo, to which I will add soil from the compost bin tomorrow. Then it will be ready for courgettes and sweetcorn in a couple of months.

We got home at 5 and luckily for us Mollie and Henry cooked fajitas for tea. They were tasty, and very spicy. Now we are all cosy on the new sofa together under blankets watching a film. (We decided to turn the heating off yesterday - it is plenty warm enough for us)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.