Merrie Olde England

On This Day In History
2005: Disney announces Bob Iger as new C.E.O.

Quote Of The Day
"The riskiest thing we can do is just maintain the status quo."
(Bob Iger)

Today worked out really well. Well, mostly. It started off great because A, S and M met me at the Cross in Chichester to give me my washing. Not only that, though; they also gave me some paper bowls, some plastic spoons and four single-serving packets of breakfast cereal. So now I'm well sorted!

Another good thing; despite being woken in the night by strong wind outside, the weather was pretty good. Still quite windy, but no rain and also sunny. So, after dropping the laundry etc. off at the Travelodge, I took the train to Arundel. I had just over an hour to wander around Arundel, take some photos and visit my favourite shop there (Kim's Bookshop) before going back to the station to meet M from the 11:46, which arrived at exactly 11:46!

We ate our lunch at a restaurant, then went for a long walk. How grateful I am that, like me, she enjoys long walks in peaceful surroundings. We went into St. Nicholas' Church, then Arundel Cathedral before heading into the countryside to walk past Hiorne Tower and then back down into town for Swanbourne Lake and a very welcome tea and scones in the tea lodge in the Extras. It was a lovely day and M is a very sweet young lady and wonderful company. I am so pleased to have had this opportunity to get to know her and welcome her back into the extended family fold.

So, why was it "mostly" good? One word; trains. The train we were supposed to catch was cancelled so we had to wait for fifty minutes on the station. On the plus side, there was a drop-and-swap for books and puzzles in the waiting room and I found three good books there for fifty pence each; two Bernard Cornwell novels and a Stephen Baxter S.F. novel.

Virtutes Instrumenti and Virtutes Voci

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.