Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Support Group

I've been under the local hospital for my prostate cancer for about 7 years now.  Recently, I got notification that the local support group was re-starting meetings so I decided to go along to the first one to see what happens.

Unfortunately, they weren't able to deliver the agenda as advertised as the junior doctors' strike prevented some key personnel from the hospital attending.  Instead they hurriedly arranged a talk by one of the committee on the various types of treatment available.

I did wonder how much the audience were aware of the subject matter of the talk, given all of us were likely to have had some treatment already, but it was an ice-breaker and did elicit some discussion.

I did find out that there is another on-line resource, provided by the association of support groups, with very useful information for anyone concerned about prostate cancer.

Hopefully things will be more structured at the next meeting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.