Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

The All England Championships

I love my badminton, so it might come as something of a surprise that I'd never been to the All England Championships at the National Indoor Arena in Birmingham before.  It was a day where you got entry for the whole day and could sit anywhere you liked.  Here I'm up in the gods to get a panoramic view of the four courts in use today.  There's also an extra where I came down to court level to capture the action of a ladies doubles between the Japanese 7th seeds and a pair from Denmark.  It went to the wire, but the seeds came through in three games.

It's always a bit confusing what you can take with you in terms of cameras to such things.  I opted for my Nikon V3 after reading that only phones and small 'instamatics' were allowed (who uses the term instamatics anymore?).  When I got there people were taking in full blown dSLRs without any fuss.  The only issue was that you could only take in a small bag, no rucksacks were allowed.  One thing it did show was how good the new AI denoise facility is in Lightroom/Potoshop.  I was shooting at 6400 iso and normally the output from the V3 is incredibly noisy.  The denoise facility worked a treat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.