Maggie

This morning was Pilates on the office floor with Maggie guiding us from the small screen. Still feeling a bit wobbly but much better, I joined in and as always, felt a lot better for it. Much as I complain about it, I have a great deal to be grateful to modern medicine for, even if the system is both expensive and broken. It worked pretty seamlessly for me yesterday, even as I sat in the waiting room listening to a conversation with a receptionist saying they are low on doctors and having trouble finding replacements. There's a lot to be said for nurse practitioners and physician's assistants.

When I went to the computer to turn off Zoom, I was reminded by a number of delightful e-cards that today is my birthday. It's not a big number quite yet and I'd just as soon not be reminded of how close it is getting to one. I was further reminded  by my brother and his wife singing happy birthday and happy pi day alternately over the phone. My phone was still turned off from my visit to the clinic yesterday, but Rick allowed as how they were just as glad not to have to sing 'live'. Later in the day were birthday wishes from a long lost friend in Berkeley and Dana and Jim from Buenos Aires.

Maggie met us at Trail House after class where we spent a pleasant couple of hours with her all to ourselves. She is looking forward to a trip to Bali starting on Friday. All in all, a perfect celebration of a birthday I'd just as soon forget about! 

John and I will go birthday shopping together when the weather and my health improve. a bit more.

And the best birthday present of all...my driving license arrived in the mail. There were enough questions about it that I spent more time than I should have worrying about it, especially since the old one expires today.I put it in a drawer since I still can't quite believe I finally have the new, renewed one in my possession.

We are having another atmospheric river, the tenth this year according to reliable sources. Hillsides are starting to slide and creeks to rise dangerously in many parts of the county. We are fine where we are, just getting pretty tired of rain. There have been high gusty winds on yet another day when we are most grateful for a warm dry house.

I was brushing my teeth and thinking of the irony of turning off the water while I brushed my teeth and turning it on again to rinse, all while they are emptying water out of overflowing reservoirs. Still, water conservation is a good habit to establish as I'm sure this abundance of water won't last forever....

I just now got a message announcing the birth of Lindsay and Adisa's second daughter, sister to Grace. Exciting news to be sharing a birthday with a new family member.


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.