Flossmo

By Flossmo

Blossom

It was a nice sunny day as I walked down the hill to The Maltings. There was plenty of blossom around and a couple of camellias were in full bloom.

Today's film was The Fabelmans - Steven Spielberg's loosely autobiographical film about how he got into the movie business. The film is two and a half hours long but, to be fair, for me it was never boring. He definitely makes a good film and there were lots of nice touches, if you were concentrating. I am currently reading Lessons in Chemistry  by Bonnie Garmus, which is also set in 1950s (and 60s) America, and explores some related themes, so it was interesting to compare the two and see how so many things have changed during my lifetime.

By the time I got back the main bathroom had been dismantled - fittings gone, tiles off the wall and floor - and the mess behind revealed. I had long suspected that there was a leak somewhere and the removal of the covering revealed it all. In many ways I feel relieved that we are not just spending money on a cosmetic job but on a necessary and timely addressing of what are structural issues. Onward and upward. 

  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.