Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Swinging for Kids

Finally getting around to posting my back blip of the Green Valley News golf tournament. The proceeds benefited education scholarships. I was the only volunteer needed because just one hole needed to be watched: the hole-in-one contest.  

I couldn't see the tee from where I was. After a group walked off the green, I had to hide behind a big tree so I wouldn't get hit with a ball. Two came very close to me.  The weird thing about it was they came from guys in the same foursome.

I was out there for 5 hours. The only thing that disappointed me was the Thank You to all the sponsors and volunteers listed in the newspaper. All of the sponsors were there, but the only volunteer wasn't mentioned. Of course, I was there because it benefited kids, so no biggie.

I have fond memories from when I played golf. My great-aunt taught me when I was 13 and I played until I was 30. I was really bad. But those were the days we pulled our clubs, not riding in a cart getting no exercise.  It was walking on the course after work in the summer, by myself, enjoying the walk and the peacefulness.
------------------------
Golf got its name because all of the other four-letter words were taken.


Why does the golf pro tell you to keep your head down during lessons? So you can't see them laughing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.