A time for everything

By turnx3

Evening sky

Monday 13 March

As usual, I was finishing off my book for Book Club this afternoon at the last minute in the morning! The book was The President and the Freedom fighter: Abraham Lincoln, Frederick Douglass, and their battle to save America’s soul. Abraham Lincoln was white but born into poverty on a border farm. Frederick Douglass was black, a child of slavery, who had risked his life by fleeing to freedom in the north. Both of them were self-educated, passionate and committed, and at this critical time in the nations history, their paths would cross, and they would both fight in their own ways to end slavery. In general, I’m more of a fiction reader, than non-fiction, and I wasn’t really looking forward to reading this, but we all found it a good read, and for me especially, who wasn’t educated in American history as much as the others, I found it informative, adding to what I already knew, without getting too bogged down in details. The book provoked some good discussion, both about the time period, but also about where we stand today, and how much prejudice still exists, especially in the South, and how in many ways the country seems to be going backwards.
It had been a grey wintry day, with showers of snow and sleet off and on, but shortly before sunset, there was a little bit of clearing, and I just got this picture from our back garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.