Look who's up!

This morning started wet so we went shopping at the supermarket. However, by late morning the weather had improved and I checked on Peter Tortoise (supposedly) hibernating in our shed .I found he was now  awake so we moved him  and his house into his new enclosure  and, in no time at all, he was out and about exploring his new home. Just as well I managed to get M and O to construct the enclosure a couple of weeks ago, and we brought him back from my Mum's shed last weekend. Peter has been with our family for almost 60 years (we found him  in spring 1963)Traditionally, he  used to awake from hibernation  around All Fools Day (April 1st) but in recent years, with milder winters, he has woken earlier. Now it seems he wants to celebrate St Patrick's Day with us! 
It's nice to have him living with us.  (And, although not quite as enchanting as pet cats and dogs, I think he may also prove a useful subject for EBs!!) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.