A day in the life

By Shelling

Spontaneous

I'm spontaneous far too little I think but this morning I saw that one of my favourite women musicians were performing at the big venue in Kalmar this evening. I also noticed there was very few tickets sold, considering the size of the concert venue. So I bought a ticket, more expensive than I normally buy but there was no choice and I wanted to see and hear her "at work". Her name is Anna Ternheim, a low key singer and songwriter who's been selling records since early 2000. She's got a fairly large group of followers, mainly because she's got good lyrics and interesting songs. Here's a clip from Youtube.

The show was beautiful, lighting songs instrumentation... but the mixing of the sound was the worse I've heard in a professional context in a long time, it was impossible to hear what she was singing because of too loud volume and bad mixing. Shame on an otherwise good show. Usually I have my special earplugs that dampens the "noise" and lets through the useful frequencies but I'd forgotten to bring them and had to have my fingers pressed against the "Tragus", the flap, or lid on the outer ear nearest the auditory canal, to be able to hear what she was singing. If you haven't tried it, do it next time during a too loud concert or bad sound. You can suddenly hear details and often even the words to the song, and it make you look a bit like a fool but I can buy that. For 63€ I want something better than I got.

I'm glad I went though, spontaneity in itself is a good thing, sometimes you get a good experience, sometimes not but you always get an experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.