The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Conkers to you!!

Really cold and bleak again today so scratching around for something decent to blip I sent my husband swearing happily out of the car in the local park to pick a flower off a large horse chestnut tree!!!
Now I am sure anyone living in the UK will be familiar with the spectacular upright candelabra like flowers that adorn horse chestnut or conker trees this time of year but I wonder how many people will have actually seen these beauties in detail?
Close up they are about 2 cm across with frilly curved back white petals with pink, salmon or yellow blotches, and prominent stamens.
I could have blipped a picture of the whole thing, but I thought this light behind, peep into the whole thing showed the delicacy and the beauty of the flowers much more effectively. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.