Stripy!

I am so sorry I had to backblip my effort for yesterday, but I was really busy and I just didn't get round to posting the pictures I had taken until this evening.
it would be really lovely if you could have a quick look at yesterday's effort if you get chance.
Today has been much easier.
After work I went to the local Nature reserve to see the warden, and offer him some Emperor moth larvae.
The car park had a huge bed of cow parsley, which was being visited by a lot of different hover flies.
I find it is always good practice to have a look at these umbiliferous type of plants as they are often full of insects.
I was very pleased to see this beautiful little hover fly which I think is probably Parhelophilus versicolor, but it could be parhelophilus frutetorum as it is very difficult to tell the two apart. I will try to ask some of my expert friends and let you know the outcome.
These flies are like a smaller more orange and more hairy version of the common sun flies Helophilus spp
P. versicolor is widespread throughout the UK but never common, is found in lushly vegetated areas near water between April and August

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.