Spotted

Slight back blip today as I was soo busy yesterday evening I didn't get chance to post my blip at all!
But....I did manage to get out and take a few shots before it turned really dull and everything went and hid under a leaf out of my way!
While I was wandering around the beautiful Southwater woods, I noticed the first of the Common Spotted orchids Dactylorhiza fuchsii were coming into bloom. These pretty little orchids with spotted leaves and flowers varying in colour from white to deep pink is common around where I live.
The woodland rides are usually full of them in early summer, and pleasing to both the eye and the pollinating insects.
I chose this shot of it as a little fly was conveniently sitting on one of the lower leaves completing the picture.
I quite liked it, I hope you do too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.