STIRLING CASTLE

Well I didn't make it to The Kelpies last night to see them lit up because, well I had a large glass of wine and I was a bit to gigglified!!!!  We had a delicious meal at Chianti's in Falkirk last night.  The waiters, especially one, was a real Italian character but that made it even more enjoyable.

Boy did it blow a hoolie last night - we had decided if the weather was too bad we wouldn't go anywhere to day, but morning came and it waas bright and sunny - OK very windy but I have seen worse so we went to Stirling Castle.

After getting lost around the road works going on in Stirling we eventually found our way up there.  It was busy, but not awful - I'd hate to go up there in the summer months it would be heaving!!!

Anyway I had to climb yet more stairs but we had a good look around and walk around.  We decided not go on one of the guided tours as we prefer to find our own way round but they were on offer, free, if you wanted one.

We did miss a couple of things out, purely 'cos we were so tired as it was extremely windy up there.  There were a couple of areas sealed off due to the strong winds but otherwise we saw most of it - just realised we forgot about the kitchens - oh well an excuse for another visit maybe!!!!

We had a sandwich the cafe - well it was New Yorker Bloomer apparently - but they'd put some sort of mustard in it and not to my taste but well it didn't really matter.

We got lost a bit coming back too as we missed our M9 turn off and ended up heading towards Glasgow - being me I got in a bit of a panic, but we ended up coming back a completely different way but got back safe and sound anyway.

We are decided whether to go back to the Italian tonight or "make do" with the hotel restaurant.  The hotel food is good but a very limited menu and expensive - the Italian food has a wider range and is cheaper but then we'd have to drive there - albeing only about 3 minutes - decisions decisions!!!!

I will then pack up later and arrange a time to pick G up tomorrow before heading home.

We've been so lucky with the weather - so much better than predicted - the only bad day was Monday, and that really was mostly just the afternoon so it didn't stop us seeing The Kelpies.

That's all from me for now - do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.