LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

Waiting…

My Mum had a fall last night and this morning she couldn’t stand so my Dad called an ambulance. Seven hours later it arrived. Fortunately the GP prescribed something for the pain and one of the neighbours went to collect the prescription. She was eventually admitted to A&E and has had an x-ray and thankfully nothing is broken. It’s been a long day for my Dad so I sent him home and sat with Mum till she fell asleep at half nine tonight.

She’s recently been diagnosed with vascular dementia with a side of Alzheimer’s and the last year has been tough all round. She’s lost so much weight and is now down to 43kgs which isn’t healthy for anyone. To have had such an active life, cycling for miles and miles with my Dad, it’s really hard to watch the deterioration. Sad times.

It was unlucky to need the NHS on a day when a ship fell over, presumably down to human error after my Dad explained how these dry docks work, as we assume that’s why the ambulance took so long. Fingers crossed everyone from that incident is okay.

My kitty seems to know when I need extra love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.