pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

London leaving do

A slightly frustrating day today. I was due in London for an afternoon leaving do for the long-standing CEO of one of my clients, but had booked in a meeting for the morning too as it was a long way to go for couple of hours.

You can imagine my frustration then as the train moved off from Warrington (the last station before it careers through the countryside to Euston) when I received a text from the morning meeting stating that she wasn’t going to make it as “her Nanny was ill”. Easily the best upper middle class excuse for missing a meeting that I have ever been party to.

So I had a quick stroll through Borough Market before finding a quiet corner of a coffee shop and catching up on emails and calls on a phone that incessantly rang throughout the day. I’m meant to be off for a week after next week, but I’m not sure if I’ll be able to properly check out…

There’s so many parts of London where the past sits easily amongst modern day architecture, but I only caught the two I present to you today. 

The leaving do was great, very classy and I got to meet a couple of people I had only ever seen over video calls. One of the attendees who I had helped at the last minute with an issue had come over to thank me and I got a most unexpected name check in the leaving speech! I was also surprised to see Lord Sugar’s former henchman; Nick Hewer in attendance, but kept my cool, definitely not letting the pitch of my voice elevate as I blurted “bloody hell, that’s Nick Hewer!” 

Unfortunately, I couldn’t stay long as having already missed my booked train, I needed to get back to Euston to make sure I caught the next one.

Today’s listening efforts are brought to you by the ‘Mobbed Up’ podcast and ‘Garth Marenghi’s Terrortome’. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.