WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Gleam

Today's "walk" was a tour of Salobreña's old town led by Julián. He it was with whom I dawdled miles behind on the last walk in Salobreña while he told us about every house we passed.

I must say this was not exactly a historical tour -- more along the lines of "That's where the Francoist mayor lived". "My cousin's house", "I was born in that house". Unfortunately most people go on these walks to chatter among themselves so even those of us who were listening to him had a hard time hearing. On the plus side, we discovered parts of the old town we hadn't seen, and although the church was closed for renovations in preparation for holy week, the foreman turned out to be a distant cousin of Julián's, so he let us in. Extra 1: the statue that will be carried through the streets in a couple of weeks. Main blip and extra 2 are in an arched passageway in the old town.

There was a lot of dawdling. I needed to be back in Almuñecar before 1 pm, and it was clear that if I stayed I wouldn't make it,  so after we'd spent ten minutes standing around outside the castle I made my excuses and dashed back down the hill to the car. I didn't make it in time, but it turned out it was more convenient for all of us to postpone our rendezvous till 2 pm. So I had time for a shower and brush up before meeting G and A at Sabina's restaurant for lunch.

The fresh fish was as good as ever, and afterwards we walked up to look at the house G and A have rented for the week. It's in the old town, a traditional old village house with a roof terrace, but much better in terms of space and light than the last place they rented, so I'll be passing the details on to other friends. We lounged on the terrace drinking wine or coffee and chatting before heading back home to another splendid sunset.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.