WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Panorama

Yes, another one!

S, G and A went out for a walk above Frigiliana early this morning. I stayed at home making lemonade before heading into town to have my hair cut by Shantelle. Her hairdryer had burst into flames just before I arrived, luckily not while she was drying her previous customer's hair, so no blow-dry for me. This did not bother me as my hair is so short and dries very quickly anyway.

Then I headed to Frigiliana to meet the others. This took ages, partly because I took the wrong exit off the motorway and ended up driving through Nerja, and then I took the wrong turn into Frigiliana, but luckily found a parking space very easily, only a kilometre from where we were meeting. I eventually made it only half an hour later than intended.

We'd hoped to eat at the Garden, an excellent restaurant at the very top of Frigiliana, but when S phoned a couple of days ago, they said they were doing renovations and "hoped" to open on Tuesday. Luckily their walk took them past the restaurant and they were able to observe signs of life, so we had lunch there after all. 

We've only eaten there once before, in 2020 (just before lockdown) and it is even better than we remembered. Starters included a beetroot, orange and feta salad, pronounced excellent, and G and I had onion and courgette bhajis with mint raita and sweet chilli sauce. Then S and I shared delicious barbecued lamb with mint aioli and pomegranate molasses. Thus leaving room for dessert. S and I shared medjool dates with spices, labneh, and crumble, but G and A won the dessert lottery with an amazing roast banana oozing with melted chocolate, vanilla ice cream, marshmallows, salted caramel sauce, and molasses. It's rare to get a decent dessert in Spanish restaurants, so this is worth writing home about. We'll definitely be back now it's opened again, because I wanted to try everything on the menu. And as you can see, on a sunny day (unlike last time) the view is fabulous.

Back home by about five, and we've just enjoyed a sundowner on the terrace. ¡ Salud !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.