Bus Challenge No 186

Scumbrum Lane, High Littleton

If you’re feeling down in the dumps, I wouldn’t read any further.

Today was the only day this week that I didn’t need to set my alarm, so being woken at 7am by the neighbours’ dogs was very frustrating. I remember watching the 8am news headlines, but the next thing I knew Dad was calling me, at 9.45am, which meant I only had 15 mins to get up and ready for my last hospice zoom art session.

Late morning, K messaged me to say she was no longer able to meet up  this afternoon. Given the fact that it was raining heavily and I no longer had any plans, I was all for cancelling this afternoon’s session with the lovely Peggy Dodd lady but Dad was eager for it to go ahead (for the first time!), so I reluctantly agreed to go out. I needed a birthday card but couldn’t face trudging up and down the high street in the rain so decided to take the bus out through the countryside to High Littleton; at least I would be dry while I was on the bus. But by the time I’d walked to the bus stop and waited in the rain for the bus (10mins late) I was soaked.

The name Scumbrum Lane has always tickled me so that was my blip destination. As you may be able to tell, it was now tipping down in High Littleton, so after a visit to the village shop, and after only 15 mins, I was back at the bus stop waiting to go home, where the wind meant that the shelter gave no protection from the rain. I had my return bus to myself, no one else was mad enough to go out in such foul weather! Back home I was literally soaked to the skin and had to change into dry clothes. But Dad had had a lovely afternoon playing Scrabble.

Total bus journey time = 38 mins

Thank you for your kind stars for yesterday’s blip, and yes, it was my Christmas tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.