King Tuts

Missing yet another Wednesday night with the lads. On this occasion as we’ve been gifted tickets y’see, to see one Joshua Burnside, at King Tuts. It’s like being bought a book by someone who doesn’t know you very well. I bought you this book. It’s 592 pages and about a group of persecuted Dutch people who set up a monastery on an island in a lake in 17th century Trinidad. No, it’s fiction. You’ll love it.
As it was, I needn’t have worried. Young Josh was a most entertaining and engaging folkie singer. I was expecting maybe a slightly more experimental tinge (I’d read his wiki entry y’see) but hey it was grand. And one of his singles was shortlisted for the Northern Ireland Music Prize Best Single in 2018, so as corny DJs would say, I expect we’ll be hearing a lot more from this talented young man!*




* Though these lyrics may be prescient -

My mother before she died, told me, son
If you must be a singer, well you ought to run
Down to the dole office, and sign on today
For that's where you'll be, collecting your pay
Yes, that's where you'll be, collecting your pay

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.