Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

This is my little outdoor 'lodger'. It's sitting on the edge of the pine bark with the lid of sugar water beside it. Too cold outside for it to wake up, so today I've used more of the 'fabric' I have for the plants - to cover them during colder nights with risk of frost, or to protect them from pests (or caterpillars). I thought this fabric would also have the possibility to shield a little one from the cold spell ahead. Since the little greenhouse easily warms up in the sunshine, I had to leave a little gap, so it's cold enough for the little one not to wake up, but warm enough so it'll survive. I've done what I can... I just hope it's enough! 

Today, then... well... It took me almost an hour to get to this place my supervisor wanted me to check out. I actually met her on the last bus and I was upfront with her about the long days I would have with this kind of travel. I also told her that I want the possibility to walk home. She did understand.
When we got there we were met by a little dog, cute as a button, who wanted to say hello and jumped up on my leg. It took all that I had not to cuddle it! We were told it was a poodle mix, but since I'm allergic and my asthma is acting up, I didn't dare. The little one was put in an office instead. Then we had the meeting and I was told what was going on at this place. Lovely situated, large house, beside a large nature reserve (which stretches all the way back to my home, but too far to walk home...), large garden... lots of different things to do and in the afternoon there were courses of different kinds: taking photos with your mobile, working with clay, English and carpentry. Apparently you can do what you want (except for the fun stuff - that's only happening after work hours...), when you want it, how you want it and with or without company of others. No structure at all... with some people being staff and some people being people coming to do stuff just for the company and being social. The woman we had the meeting with thought I'd fit right in and I just kept my cards close... but I was transparent with what didn't suit me: the long days... My supervisor suggested I'd start there and try it out and I just thought hell no! On the way back to the bus my supervisor really listened to me when I told her I found that place messy and unstructured, and not for me. She agreed, thankfully, and finally understood what I was after: work! This wasn't work... this was social interaction and playtime. She told me she'd been in touch with the Greenhouse and they remembered me well. She'll get in touch with them again and if there's a spot for me now, she asked when I would be able to start. She didn't think a Monday would be suitable when you start again, but rather later in the week. I told her I can start on Thursday! I know the place, I know the people, I have the clothes and I know what's expected of me. So, either Thursday next week, or Thursday after Easter, depending on the Greenhouse.
She also told me she had to take me to another place first, to compare it with the Greenhouse, to see what was best and be able to have that as an argument for the Greenhouse being better for me. 
Now I can relax, but... I can't really believe it to happen until I get the message that it's happening. Fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.