CreativeCarol

By CreativeCarol

Wood Carved Diorama

I am so glad I do not have to cook in a kitchen like this one! This wood Carved Diorama 3D shadow Box hangs in my kitchen and it is very dear to my heart. Ever since I was a little girl I admired this little carving hanging in my Grandmother's (Nana) kitchen. She lived out in the country in the state of New Jersey. Her kitchen was where everything happened! I helped her bake cookies , we played go fish, and she held me close in her lap telling me that God loved me. She lived to be 98 years old. When she passed away there was a big hole in my heart for a long time. This was the only thing I asked for to remember her by when she passed away.

My Mother bought it for her as a souvenir from their trip to Italy in 1967. I did a little research on the web about this carving and was surprised to see that this $2.25 carving was selling for $99.00 on ebay! It doesn't really matter to me because it is priceless to me for the memories. Even though my Nana's kitchen did not look like this, by looking at this little carving, I remember the sights, the sounds and smells that are the most delicious memories that I will always carry of my Grandmother.

I thought this photo fit several words from the May Heartfreek challenge: Memory, old and Macro. Because my Memoryof my Nana is so dear to me, I am blipping this one in her memory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.