CreativeCarol

By CreativeCarol

Moonlight Sonata

I had a very long but very wonderful day! But it was 8:30 when I arrived home, it was dark and I had no blip yet! Camera in hand I started to wonder around the yard. Our Gardenia tree was in full bloom and the lovely fragrance was filling the air. Snap! Then looking up in the sky I saw the beauty of the moon and it reminded me of the beauty of Beethoven's Moonlight Sonata.

The Moonlight Sonata is Beethoven's most popular sonata. The first movement is the one the most people recognize. It is played Adagio which is quite slow and easy to play. The second movement is allegretto (brisk tempo) and the third movement is Presto (quick tempo). Both these movement are significantly more challenging to play for me!

The reason I love this piece is that you can listen to a hundred different pianist's play it and it will sound different with each one. The music takes upon itself the player's mood and I think also that of the listener's mood. Today I believe that when people listen to music if is often used as a background. The art of truly listening to music is almost lost in my opinion. To experience Betthoven's Moonlight sonata, try listening to it in a quiet place with your eyes closed and let your mind wander. Let your heart and mind experience different moods and feelings. I hope you enjoy my Moonlight Sonata photo and maybe if you have time to listen to Beethoven's Moonlight Sonata!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.