D&K, A&E

Backblip

This dunnock is not about to take off. I particularly wanted to capture the wing-flicking behaviour that the males use when establishing their territories. They're known as shuffle-wings in some areas because of this. Nice to see the young elder shoots.

I shot the red kite soon after I had arrived at Amwell Nature Reserve. I spent a pleasant time in the White Hide, while it poured outside, chatting with a young Spanish man, the only other occupant, about the bird life and cuisine of Sanlucar de Barrameda where my son lives.

I took MrQ for a blood test at lunchtime. I had just arrived at M&S to do my regular Friday evening food shop when our GP rang my mobile  asking me to take MrQ urgently to A&E. The blood lab had contacted him to tell him that MrQ, who has suffered with anaemia for a long time, is dangerously anaemic and needs an urgent blood transfusion. He emailed me a letter to present which he said would get MrQ seen quickly.

I aborted my shop and got MrQ to A&E at 7:30pm. The place was heaving, I suspect with many choosing to use A&E instead of trying to get to see their GPs. A board stated that 142 patients were waiting. Most patients had a family member of friend with them. I felt quite unsafe in that sad sea of ailing humanity. A proper Covid hotspot I'd guess. We eventually got to see a very harassed but efficient male nurse at 1.30am. He inserted a cannula. MrQ was given a bed in a cubicle in the unit. I went home to get him some clean clothes. When I returned the blood had not arrived. I stayed for a while then went home again at 4:30am for a couple of hours sleep. I returned this morning to pick him up and the blood had still not turned up. They said they'd ring me to collect him when the transfusion is complete. What a bewildering experience for a very frail and confused ninety-one-year-old man.       

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.