New Zealand Pipit

Scientific name: Anthus novaeseelandiae
Common name: New Zealand Pipit
Maori name: Pihoihoi

My first sighting of this small bird, I couldn't identify it until it was on the computer and then I may've got it wrong, please let me know if I have. It moved so quickly along the ground, hopping, running - here, there and everywhere, I was lucky to get this shot.

They are widespread in open country on all three main islands from coast to alpine areas. Small ground-feeding bird with pale brown, flecked with darker brown plumage, white belly and undertail and outer tail feathers. White eyestripe and pale chin. They nest on the ground in grass or tussock, female builds and incubates. They are strongly territorial and endemic to New Zealand.

The sun shone for a while today making the droplets on the grass glisten, but round 3pm it clouded over felt damp and chilly, glad I took a wander down the river just after lunch. I have my new progressive lenses for my specs and they're taking a bit of getting used to, especially on the computer. I'm hoping for a better day tomorrow with them - just getting my head in the right place to be able to read makes all the difference but when I hit the right spot its ' Wow!'

Happy Wednesday everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.