A GOOD DAY TO GRILL

Although there's another blizzard forecast for today, it seemed like it was a good idea to grill some burgers for lunch before it got too bad......so I did.
~
Isn't that a silly thing to do on a nasty Saturday?  You may notice a pile of bird food on the ground next to the garage door.....I make it my business to assist the local wild birds when conditions and food finding are extreme.  Bird seed, freeze-dried meal worms, peanuts and dried cranberries.  Our local American Robin (Turdus migratorius), known as Fat Albert, was hanging around scolding me as I grilled for being in the way of this feeding opportunity.  He got tired of waiting around in the lilac branches and flew to the ground near the seed pile...he was after the cranberries but couldn't bring himself to have some while I was there.  Thumper, the cottontail rabbit (Sylvilagus floridanus) came around the garage from the other side undoubtedly seeking peanuts. He didn't know I was there and when he saw the grill he hit high gear and got his cotton-tail out of there.
~
I finished grilling in short order and went inside to dine.  In less than a minute Fat Albert was there muckling down some cranberries.  I didn't see Thumper come back but I'm sure he'll be there for a share of the bounty.  The local Starlings (Sternus vulgaris) made short work of the meal worms as they arrived in their usual intimidating pack driving all other birds away.  I expect the Mourning Doves (Zenaida macroura) and many other species to show up soon as well before the storm gets too bad. I hope I have lessened the stress of the weather this day for my feathered friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.