Hipster Leith

Although I slept a lot better last night, there still seems no real escape from weariness. I've felt it in the background all day. I would have liked to have had a day time snooze, but it never came.

We had a busy morning, including a trip to the supermarket, a trip to our storage facility to get the bulk of the stuff going up to Tain in the car at Easter (yet more "stuff"....there is never an end to it), and then a trip down to Leith Market which felt very neighbourhood today. For me, this was via the cycle shop on Leith Walk, to drop off my bike to get puncture sorted (apparently it was a bit of glass....I thought it would be; there was some which I couldn't avoid at the top of North Bridge yesterday morning). Down at the market we picked up baked goods as well as the cheese straws we had been "stood" by Mel in recompense for Sassie's naughtiness a couple of weekends ago. We also saw DaveH and meles and I said hello to a professional acquaintance who had obviously heard about the honorary degree (perhaps via twitter?).

Anyway, my blip is a tribute to #hipsterleith including, wait for it, a unicycle on the pavement, as well as various hipster shops, the market and some street art.

The afternoon was quieter. After fetching my bike in the early afternoon, I've mainly been reading (News of the Dead). I did see an interesting email come in....from an alumnus who is now the Attorney General in his own country. Wants to visit Edinburgh in April. Let's see what we can organise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.