Don't worry!

This is Cottage Pie, not Shepherd's Pie - beef, not lamb! 

After a very steady morning to see off the last of my migraine, this afternoon picked up speed when the young family arrived for a while. Mrs B and the young master communed in one room, while little Miss B and I worked together on a 250-piece jigsaw that we'd begun last time she visited. Then we had a play in the garden, which always ends up with little Miss B doing some gardening. She loves it! We planted a couple of Charlotte seed potatoes ('earlies' sown a little on the late side), and there are more to go in when I have prepared the ground. She enjoyed meeting a number of worms. At first she was wary of touching them, but once she'd seen my handling them, she was fine. (Very different from my reaction to spiders!) She began reciting (to my joy and delight!) her favourite nursery-rhyme parody from my book "Don't Poke a Worm till it Wriggles!" - which goes

Squirmy Wormingham
went to Birmingam
in a shower of rain.
He went for a paddle
right up to his saddle
and never went there again!

As my children were already at secondary school when my children's poetry began to be published, it came too late for them to enjoy as kiddiwinks. So it is an extra pleasure that our grandchildren came along when they did. Gives me an extra granny-glow! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.