Living my dream

By Mima

“What??”

On our way down the drive for a walk I had to stop and grab a photo of the dahlia bed which is still going strong and giving me pleasure each time I pass it. 

Bean couldn’t believe there was a delay …

It started off dull and wet and has gradually improved. As I Blip this evening there is barely a cloud in the sky, the birds are warbling fit to bust and I have doors and windows open. 

Pah! Take that, wintery weather of last week.

I launched into making a Manchego cheese today, after enjoying my habitual Sunday morning participation in “Ask the Cheeseman”: a YouTube live chat from Australia. It is always useful and enlightening.

Despite going over the recipe and the timings carefully, it turned out I’d not been careful enough and I won’t be able to press it for the prescribed 6 hours (I’ll be fast asleep by then). 

So I have busked a bit by reducing the pressing time a bit, and increasing the weight of the press slightly, in the hope that the latter will make up for the former. 

I’ll only know in a few weeks’ time when I cut it if this risky behaviour has paid off. 

Incidentally Bean shunned apples in favour of extra plums during our walk. I have little idea what goes on in her head sometimes…

Thank you for the kind words about my peely wallyness yesterday. A long sleep (during which I dreamt vividly about neat stacks of tiny multi-coloured boxes and piles of suitcases) seems to have helped. Nevertheless I do suspect the antibiotics are messing with my entire system somewhat, and I’ll be glad to complete the course tomorrow and get back to normal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.