Flossmo

By Flossmo

Long day/short day

I was up and out of the house by 6am to go to the Read Easy conference at Warwick University. I was lucky enough to be chauffeured there by another member of the newly formed local team. We also picked up our team leader along the way and the three of us chatted along the way. We arrived to beautiful sunny skies but a ripping cold wind as we walked to the conference venue.

It was a really good conference and an excellent introduction for me for my new role. I met a lot of very nice people and had a number of chats over coffee breaks with people who have been Read Easy coordinators for a while. It gave me enormous insight into what I have taken on. There were inspirational stories of people who have learned to read on the programme including one woman who came and told her story in person. It was quite emotional.  By 4 o'clock, however, the day started to catch up with me and I was glad to get back in the car and be chauffeured back to Farnham, my head spinning. The trip back was uneventful and I arrived home soon after six. Given that the clocks were due to change over night and we were due to lose an hour I decided an early night was in order.

The photograph is of a David Hockney ipad print that was hanging on the wall in the Oculus (see extra), the Warwick University teaching building where the conference was held. Students have never had it so good if you ask me.    

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.