What a morning!

I was up at 6.15am the morning to take mum to the airport - her flight was at 9.30, but I wanted to leave by 7am to make sure we got through the traffic. I also said that if we had time, we'd go to security and see if we could search for her missing suitcase.

So we checked her in first and then went downstairs to the arrivals hall and through the security. They handed us over to Brussels Airlines staff who said one of us could go to look for it, but not both of us - so I said it was better that I went as I had more time, and she had a plane to catch. So off she went, and I went through security to 'the other side', only to realise that I was carrying mum's holdall over my shoulder! I told the assistant and he said I'd better run back and catch her before she went through passport control. Luckily mum had realised too, so I met her half way, and then I went back through security but there's still no sign of the missing case. They checked their records and explained that there are still so many cases to sort through, but they've said that they'll contact me as soon as it's located and will arrange to have it delivered. It's frustrating but there's not much more we can do.

Once back in Waterloo I went to the supermarket to do my shopping, then called at the Vets to pick up Louis' food, but they were closed. So I went to the pharmacy as they sell prescription pet food too. They didn't have it in stock but have ordered it for me and I can pick it up this afternoon.

Anyway, back to my blip - Brussels is famous for the statue the Mannekin Pis which is a fountain of a small boy urinating, and at the airport there's this very large statue which has been painted by the Belgian artist Patrick Gerola. It's very difficult to get a great shot as he's in a glass case in front of a window, so there are a lot of reflections.

I've now got to go to work and I feel like I've done a full day already - I think it'll be a long one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.