Building Bumbarrel

A beautiful sunny spring morning. On my walk round the lake I heard a long tailed tit calling more excitedly than usual. Shortly afterwards I saw a pair mating, a first for me. Shame I missed the shot. I thought to myself that I hoped I would be able to spot their nest.

This afternoon I had a quick therapeutic nature walk at Fishers Green. As I stood looking over Seventy Acres Lake I heard a familiar, zep, zep, zep call, which pairs of long tailed tits use when building. I eventually located the nest deep in bushes. I took loads of images but in only a few I managed to get a clear shot of one of the birds. I've added a photo of the nest to extras. What wonderful stretchy structures they are, constructed from thousands of feathers, spider silk, moss and lichen. Barrel-shaped, they give the birds the name bumbarrels.

I visited MrQ in hospital twice. We are hoping that he might come home tomorrow.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.