Trees: the Earth's Visible Heartbeat

My husband and I were trying to fit in a quick hike before the rains came, so in the morning, we headed to the former Dry Hollow property, which is not far from where we live. There were vernal ponds there, but they were not even a TENTH as active as the ones I find locally in gamelands 176, the Scotia Barrens. (Also, there are ticks a-plenty, so plan accordingly.)

I was walking around one of the ponds, when my foot bumped a branch that was hanging in the water. The branch moved and sent waves out across the pond, shattering the reflections and transforming them into amazing textures and patterns. In this photo, you may see the reflections of trees, which are the Earth's visible heartbeat.

Baby, baby, can't you feel my heartbeat?

My soundtrack song is Herman's Hermits, with Can't You Feel My Heartbeat.

P.S. I posted a set of these abstracts on Instagram, and received a comment that someone loved "the poetic intensity" of my work. Who knew?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.