There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Meet the Eastern Comma Butterfly

My husband and I were in the Barrens, on the closed road by the shooting range. He was jogging and I was out and about with my camera. I spotted a tiny purple butterfly, pursued it, missed any and all shots. 

Then an orange shape came fluttering by, medium in size. I knew it was either a comma or a question mark, but I always have to look the differences up. As it turns out, this is an eastern comma, Polygonia comma, one of our earliest butterflies.

On our drive out of the Barrens, we saw yet another butterfly: this one, a mourning cloak. It flew in front of the car, but of course, I didn't have my camera up, so I didn't get any photos.

So here is my first butterfly photo of the year, on what was at least a THREE-butterfly day. Not bad for the first butterfly sightings of the year!!!

My soundtrack song is Lionel Richie and Jennifer Nettles, with Hello.
Let me start by saying: I love you. . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.