There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Spring Scene from Bellefonte, PA

My husband and I had been dying for a Jim's salad. The last time we went there, we got there a bit late for lunch, and to our disappointment, they were closed. So we went back on this day, and this time we did it right. We went to Jim's Italian Cuisine and got a large chef salad and cottage fries, takeout, to eat at Governor's Park, as is our custom.

As we were on our way to Jim's, we drove past the Undine Fire Co., and across the street, the St. John the Evangelist Catholic Church, and the school there beside it, with a lovely statue. I noticed that the magnolia tree behind the statue was starting to sprout pretty pink buds. So I spent the 15 minutes that I would have waited in the car for takeout, taking pictures instead. (Talleyrand Park and the Big Spring run are also favorite photo ops there.)

So here is a picture of Mary holding Jesus, with the statue against the backdrop of the colorful Victorian buildings of Bellefonte. It seemed springy and lovely and sort of Eastery in tone. So let's let this be my Easter blip, a few days early.

Now, I know I am going overboard, but I have THREE songs for this blip. First, for sweet Mary, here is Mary, by Patty Griffin and Natalie Maines*, a song that never fails to move me. 

And for Jesus, whom I've loved and been a big fan of since I was a baby girl, I've got two very different songs. First is Jackson Browne, with The Rebel Jesus. Second is a special song I am sending out to someone I love with unspoken needs: Katy Nichole, with In Jesus' Name (God of Possible).

I pray for your healing
That circumstances would change
I pray that the fear inside would flee in Jesus name
I pray that a breakthrough would happen today
I pray miracles over your life in Jesus name, in Jesus name


*I'm going to do you a favor and tell you how and where you can buy this spectacular song, Mary, by Patty Griffin and Natalie Maines (of the Chicks, formerly the Dixie Chicks).  It is on an album Songs for Tsunami Relief, by Willie Nelson, and you can't (at least not on Amazon) buy the individual track; however, you CAN buy the whole album digitally for 6.99. You're welcome!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.